Bigotry

ignorance-02varvara-wordpress

“Terrorist.” “Sand N*gger.” “Towel head.”

There truly is a vast amount of ignorance and ignorant people in the world, but to hear such things said within earshot when the target is either you or someone you love stings on an entirely different level. As a white looking American guy thankfully I hardly receive this kind of abuse, but I was to get a bitter taste of my own. I have a habit of going to this outdoor flea market with my parents on weekends. It’s a large outdoor area where vendors set up tables with all sorts of items that they are looking to sell at a bargain price to be rid of them. Most of the people we meet there are very friendly, especially since my dad is a good negotiator and loves to make small talk.

However, as my mother and I passed by a stand we clearly heard an older man in conversation with his buddies mention something along the lines of, “Did you hear about the Hajj stampede? They ought to have a Hajj every week!” They had clearly seen my mother’s hijab and had started talking amongst themselves. A part of me wanted to reply with some nasty comments of my own, but as a Muslim I would rather take the example of our prophet Muhammed (s.a.) when he said, “To overcome evil with good is good, to resist evil by evil is evil”. In the future if someone were to harass me or someone I was with just because we are Muslim I would hopefully tell them to educate themselves about our religion rather than return their insults. My heart goes out to people who have to deal with these kinds of struggles. Be the better man/woman and don’t stoop to their level.

Leave a Reply

